Orange you glad? I made Sweet Potato Pie?

Part II: Sweet Potato Sweet

I’m not a big pie fan. I don’t really enjoy making pies- the thought of trying to make pate brisse is exhausting, so if I do attempt to make one, I really need to put aside a date. i’m also more of a cake/crust kind of girl, so if I’m eating pie, I usually will eat most of the crust and just a nibble of whatever the filling is. Fruit pies are usually the victims, because it’s the only way I can enjoy certain fruits due to odd allergies.

The craving for pie is also a very specific craving. I will enjoy one during Thanksgiving if someone brings out a homemade pie, or a sampling of mini pies from Mr. Tods, which is conveniently located near my home. The latter being the only place really I enjoy pie; I loathe most supermarket pies.

However, I happened to have a premade pie crust in the fridge. I had made some pumpkin pie bites last week, and decided to ‘chase that feeling’. Sweet potato pie is pretty good, but I wanted to find something less starchy tasting. Warning, this recipe is very sweet (adapted from this one). Yo can omit the cardamom if you must.

1 refrigerated pie crust

1 lb sweet potatoes (about 2 large ones)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c milk

2 eggs

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1. Set out pie crust from fridge. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Boil sweet potatoes until you can pierce them for a fork. This took about 45-50 minutes.

3. When potatoes are done and cool, rub peels off and mash thoroughly.

4. Mix mashed sweet potato with butter and both sugars. Add eggs one at a time until each combined. Mix in spice, caradmom, and vanilla.

5. Prepare pie crust in pan, pour filling.

6. Bake for about 45 minutes until top is set. Let cool on wire rack until warm. Serve with whipped cream.DSC02545

I didn’t want to make a whole pie, so I made miniature ones using a regular muffin pan. I’m also a bit of a whore when it comes to my initials, so with some leftover pie dough I dotted them with ‘C’s. You know it.

DSC02546

Leave a comment

Filed under food, recipes

Leave a Reply

